Characters in low-dimensional topology: a conference celebrating the work of Steven Boyer

Saturday, June 2 - Wednesday, June 6, 2018

The conference will highlight ongoing research focused on finding direct connections between analysis, geometry and topology of 3-manifolds. It will also bring together researchers working on new invariants of 3-manifolds, geometric group theory applied to 3-manifolds, and more general concepts that will bear a fruitful interaction.

The conference is an opportunity to celebrate Steven Boyer’s major contributions in the area of low-dimensional topology and his important role in the Canadian mathematical community on the occasion of his 65th birthday.

Banquet on June 5

On the evening of Tuesday June 5th, we will hold a dinner in honour of Steven Boyer. Tickets for this 5 courses meal with assorted wines can be bought on a first come first serve basis while they last from Olivier Collin (collin.olivier@uqam.ca) or Alexandra Haedrich (haedrich.alexandra@uqam.ca). The prices are as follows: 60$ for tenured faculty, 40$ for postdoctoral faculty and 30$ for students.

Caractères en topologie de basse dimension: conférence en l’honneur de Steven Boyer

Samedi 2 juin au mercredi 6 juin 2018

La conférence portera sur les recherches actuelles qui mettent en évidence les connexions directes entre l’analyse, la géométrie et la topologie des 3-variétés. L’événement rassemblera des chercheurs qui travaillent sur des nouveaux invariants des 3-variétés, la théorie des groupes appliquée aux 3-variétés, ainsi que des concepts plus généraux qui auront des interactions fructueuses.

La conférence est également une belle opportunité pour célébrer les contributions majeures de Steven Boyer à la topologie de basse dimension ainsi que son rôle important dans la communauté mathématique canadienne à l’occasion de son 65ième anniversaire.

Banquet le 5 juin

Au soir du mardi 5 juin prochain, nous honorerons Steven Boyer lors d’un événement. Les billets pour ce repas 5 services accompagné de vins assortis peuvent être achetés selon le principe premier arrivé premier servi et ce jusqu’à épuisement auprès d’Olivier Collin (collin.olivier@uqam.ca) ou Alexandra Haedrich (haedrich.alexandra@uqam.ca). Les prix sont les suivants: 60$ pour les professeurs, 40$ pour les chercheurs postdoctoraux et 30$ pour les étudiants.